Topper Alumni Success at the Nacra 17 World Championships

Britons Saxton and Dabson Win 2017 Nacra 17 World Championship!

Congratulations to former GBR Topper sailor Katie Dabson, and Ben Saxton, on their win at the Nacra 17 World Championships!

From the closest and most exciting finish to a world championship Medal Race in the Olympic history of the multihull class, Great Britain's Ben Saxton and Katie Dabson pipped Spanish rivals Fernando Echavarri and Tara Pacheco, foiling at full speed across the finish line to win the 2017 Nacra 17 World Championship title on the French waters of the Baie d'Aigues Mortes by La Grande Motte. Down the final run the Spanish veteran Echavarri, 2008 Olympic gold medallist in the Tornado catamaran class, sailing with Tara Pachecho, lead the British duo into the finish of the double points Medal Race but was lifted by the breeze and lost out to the flying, fully foiling Brits who judged to perfection their layline to the finish.

"In all my years that is the closest finish I have been involved in. It was decided in the last 20 seconds." Smiled Echavarri ruefully, "But to be honest if it is not us who won I am happy to see Ben and Katie win, they have worked hard and deserve it."

The Medal Race in the gusty breezes and flat water was a perfect arena showcase finale to the 2017 Nacra 17 World Championships. Ironically at the first post Olympic meeting of all three 2016 Rio medal winners none made the cut into the top ten qualifiers for the medal race.

Australia's silver winners Jason Waterhouse and Lisa Darmanin finished 11th and Argentina's Santi Lange and Cecilia Carranza - who scored a BFD in the penultimate race - finished 13th. New Zealand's Gemma Jones and Jason Saunders won both the last Finals races today prior to the Medal Race and finish fourth overall, repeating their Rio finish.

Nacra 17 World Championship, La Grande Motte, France.

1. Ben Saxton/Katie Dabson, GBR, 92 points

2. Fernando Echavarri Erasun/Tara Pacheco Van Runsoever, ESP, 95

3. Ruggero Tita/Caterina Banti, ITA, 109

4. Gemma Jones/Jason Saunders, NZL, 111

5. Paul Kohlhoff/Alicia Stuhlemmer, GER, 115

6. John Gimson/Anna Burnet, GBR, 115

7. Moana Vaireaux/Manon Audinet, FRA, 121

8. Lin Ea Cenholt/Christian Peter Lubeck, DEN, 122

9. Iker Martinez/Olga Maslivets, ESP, 128

10. Olivia Mackay/Micah Wilkinson, NZL, 129